You just created a Skype account then after awhile you feel the account you’ve created is not good and you don’t want to use it anymore. You want to delete the Skype account permanently but you don’t know how. Even from the community forum itself does not help very much.
Actually, the moment you create Skype account, you cannot deactivate, delete, cancel or change your usernames to something else. The only thing that you can do is abandon the account. Yes, really. Just leave the account and create another one because it allows you to create as many accounts as you want.
However, although you cannot delete your Skype account, Skype allows users to remove all your personal information contained in your profile, such as your full name, email address, or phone number. So when people searching you in Skype using your personal information, (ie: full name) he will not be able to find you unless if he using your Skype name as the keyword search.
How to remove the personal information?
Here I’ll show you how to delete your personal information from your Skype account:
- Login into Skype.
- In the menu bar, click Skype > Profile > Edit Your Profile…
- Remove any personal information that you want such as your name, profile picture, phone number, and email address.
- Now the only thing that you cannot remove is your Skype name.
Even though you have removed all your information from your Skype account, your friends still can see your Skype name in their Contact list. You cannot delete your account from them, only they can remove you from their Contact list.